UNISON Cymru Wales Winner, Dave Galligan Health Service Award: Nadia Probert, Hywel Dda

Alastair Gittins
2 min readNov 5, 2019

Meet the people recognised at UNISON’s recent Cymru Wales Awards 2019 night

Winner, Dave Galligan Health Service Award: Nadia Probert, Hywel Dda

Nadia Probert

Dave Galligan was a popular Welsh head of health for UNISON and a charismatic figure in the Welsh trade union movement. For decades, he helped shape the NHS in Wales, influencing health ministers; senior NHS managers and thousands of union members.

It’s been a busy twelve months for Nadia, with significant change on two fronts but she demonstrated her capability.

Hywel Dda branch is transforming, improving its organisation and representation of members and it’s now seen as more influential within the health board. As branch secretary, Nadia is leading that change.

At the same time, the health board is planning a potentially massive and controversial restructuring so having a powerful UNISON voice is essential, challenging and shaping policy. Nadia helped to bring a unified response to the board’s proposals, meeting with community groups from the three counties covered by Hywel Dda.

Nadia pictured with fellow members of Hywel Dda Health branch and regional manager Dominic MacAskill (right)

Long-standing concerns about the functioning of the branch have been tackled; not an easy task as some UNISON reps stood down but Nadia’s perseverance and encouragement of reps has been key. She’s in constant touch with her stewards and worked very closely with the region to develop the branch. Now she’s seeking a new office for the branch.

Her tireless negotiations within the branch and the health board has secured the appointment of a much needed branch administrator and won the long-held ambition of paid time-off for reps to attend branch meetings. This is a huge step forward; the vast geographical area of the health board and travel time was a hindrance to reps attending vital branch meetings.

Nadia receives her award from regional convenor Peter Crews

Photo credit: Natasha Hirst